Compare systems
TruLight vs Bosso: What Treasure Valley Homeowners Should Compare
Bosso and TruLight are both professionally installed permanent lighting systems with white light built into the hardware, and both are installed around Boise. The differences are in how the light is built and what each manufacturer publishes for it. Bosso uses 3 RGBW LEDs per light, rated at 72 lumens and about 50,000 hours. TruLight uses 6 separate LEDs per light (3 RGB and 3 dedicated warm-white), rated at 90–120 lumens and 100,000 hours, with a longer manufacturer warranty.
At a glance
About this comparison: Pure Light Systems is an authorized TruLight dealer. Specifications were checked against each manufacturer's published information on October 4, 2026. Product lines, specifications and software change; confirm current equipment with each provider.
| TruLight roofline system | Bosso Smart Lighting | |
|---|---|---|
| System voltage | 48VSource | Not confirmed on the Bosso pages we checked |
| LEDs per light | 6 separate LEDs: 3 RGB + 3 dedicated warm-whiteSource | 3 LEDs, each with red, green, blue and white diodesSource |
| Published brightness | 90–120 lumens per light at full brightnessSource | 72 lumens per lightSource |
| Rated LED life | 100,000 hoursSource | About 50,000 hours on the brightest settingSource |
| Wire | 16-gauge tinned copper, 4-wire, with a redundant data lineSource | Not stated in current published materials |
| App and controls | TruLight app: zones, 144+ motion patterns, timers with sunset schedulingSource | Bosso app: up to 8 zones per controller, recurring schedules, sunrise/sunset timers, 256 presets, up to 4 controllers per accountSource |
| Voice and smart home | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, SiriSource | Alexa, Google Assistant, Siri, Control4Source |
| Certifications | Not covered in the TruLight sources used here | Every component UL ratedSource |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty: lighting modules and control box, fixed 11.4 years, prorated, product only, dealer-installed systemsSource | 5-year parts warranty, 1-year labor warrantySource |
| Installation | Professionally installed by authorized dealers | Professionally installed; corporate locations including Boise, plus authorized dealersSource |
System voltage
- TruLight roofline system
- 48VSource
- Bosso Smart Lighting
- Not confirmed on the Bosso pages we checked
LEDs per light
Published brightness
Rated LED life
Wire
- TruLight roofline system
- 16-gauge tinned copper, 4-wire, with a redundant data lineSource
- Bosso Smart Lighting
- Not stated in current published materials
App and controls
Voice and smart home
Certifications
- TruLight roofline system
- Not covered in the TruLight sources used here
- Bosso Smart Lighting
- Every component UL ratedSource
Warranty
Installation
- TruLight roofline system
- Professionally installed by authorized dealers
- Bosso Smart Lighting
- Professionally installed; corporate locations including Boise, plus authorized dealersSource
The major differences
How the white light is built
Bosso says each of its 3 LEDs per light contains red, green, blue and white diodes, so white comes from a white diode rather than from mixing color. TruLight separates the jobs: 3 full RGB LEDs for color and 3 full warm-white LEDs for white, 6 LEDs per light in total. Both are genuine white-light designs. The practical question is how bright and even each looks on your house, which is easiest to judge in person.
Published brightness and LED rating
Bosso publishes 72 lumens per light and about 50,000 hours on its brightest setting. TruLight publishes 90–120 lumens per light at full brightness and a 100,000-hour LED rating. Manufacturers do not always measure brightness the same way, but the published gap is notable.
Warranty
Bosso states a 5-year parts warranty and 1-year labor warranty. TruLight's limited lifetime warranty covers the lighting modules and control box for a fixed 11.4 years on dealer-installed systems. It is prorated and product-only, so labor coverage comes from the installer.
Wire and voltage
TruLight publishes a 48V system with 16-gauge tinned copper, 4-wire cable and a redundant data line. We did not find Bosso's system voltage or wire specifications on the Bosso pages we checked. Ask for them when you compare quotes. Our voltage guide explains why they matter.
Where Bosso can be a good fit
- You want RGBW lighting from a brand with a corporate location in Boise.
- You want Control4 integration alongside Alexa, Google Assistant and Siri.
- You like a large preset library: Bosso lists 256 presets plus custom presets.
- You prefer a fixed 5-year parts and 1-year labor warranty from the manufacturer.
Our recommendation
Why we recommend TruLight
- Six separate LEDs per light, with three full-size LEDs devoted entirely to warm white, rather than a white diode inside each color LED.
- Higher published output: 90–120 lumens per light vs 72.
- Double the published LED rating: 100,000 hours vs about 50,000.
- A longer manufacturer warranty term: 11.4 years on lighting modules and control box vs 5 years on parts.
- Published 48V, 16-gauge, redundant-data wiring built for long runs.
- Roofline and landscape lighting controlled together in the systems we install.
We keep Bosso samples on hand. During a consultation you can hold both and look at the build and the white light yourself. See TruLight specifications or how we price roofline lighting.
This is our view as an authorized TruLight dealer, based on the published specifications compared above.
What to compare in a real quote
- White light at night on your siding, stone or stucco, side by side.
- System voltage, wire gauge and how often power injection is needed on your layout.
- Written warranty terms: years, parts vs labor, and who handles claims.
- Footage included and price per linear foot. See our pricing.
TruLight vs Bosso FAQ
How are TruLight and Bosso different?
Both are professionally installed systems with white light built into the hardware. Bosso publishes 3 LEDs per light, each with red, green, blue and white diodes, at 72 lumens and about 50,000 hours. TruLight uses 6 separate LEDs per light, 3 RGB and 3 dedicated warm-white, published at 90–120 lumens and rated for 100,000 hours.
Does Bosso have true white light?
Yes. Bosso says every LED includes a white diode alongside red, green and blue. TruLight takes a different approach, with three full, separate warm-white LEDs in each light in addition to its three RGB LEDs.
How do the Bosso and TruLight warranties compare?
Bosso states a 5-year parts warranty and a 1-year labor warranty. TruLight’s limited lifetime warranty covers the lighting modules and control box on qualifying dealer-installed systems for a fixed 11.4-year period, subject to registration, prorating, exclusions, and the manufacturer’s current terms.
Is Bosso available in Boise?
Yes. Bosso lists a corporate location in Boise and serves the surrounding Treasure Valley. Pure Light Systems is an Eagle-based authorized TruLight dealer.
Can I see Bosso and TruLight side by side?
Yes. We keep Bosso samples, so during an on-site consultation you can compare them with TruLight lights in person.
Keep comparing
Compare Bosso and TruLight in Person
Request a free on-site consultation and see both systems side by side.