Compare systems
TruLight vs Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights: Professional vs DIY
Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights are DIY smart-home products. You buy the kit, mount it yourself and control it in the Govee app. TruLight is a professionally installed system mounted in an aluminum track and supported by a local dealer. This page compares TruLight with Govee's newest model, Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro (launched September 7, 2026), and with the Prism and Pro models Govee also sells. The right choice depends mostly on how involved you want to be in installation and upkeep.
At a glance
About this comparison: Pure Light Systems is an authorized TruLight dealer. Specifications were checked against each manufacturer's published information on October 4, 2026. Product lines, specifications and software change; confirm current equipment with each provider.
Govee sells several permanent-light models and generations, and their specifications differ. Each cell below applies only to the model named at the top of its column. Where Govee has not published a specification for a model, the table says so rather than borrowing a number from another model. Govee also sells a budget Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, which its own guide says cannot be cut.
| TruLight roofline system | Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro | Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Prism | Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Installation model | Professionally installed by authorized dealers | DIYSource | DIYSource | DIYSource |
| Mounting | Low-profile aluminum track under eaves or behind trimSource | Not stated in current published materials | Included adhesive and pre-drilled screwsSource | VHB adhesive and clipsSource |
| Power | 48V systemSource | Not stated in current published materials | 36V power adapterSource | 36V power adapterSource |
| Color system | RGBW: 3 RGB + 3 dedicated warm-white LEDs per lightSource | RGBWWICSource | RGBWWICSource | RGBWWICSource |
| White range | Dedicated warm-white LEDsSource | 1000K–10000KSource | 2700K–6500KSource | 2700K–6500KSource |
| Published brightness | 90–120 lumens per light at full brightnessSource | 40 lumens per lightSource | 40 lumens per light (product page)Source | 50 lumens per lightSource |
| Rated LED life | 100,000 hoursSource | 50,000+ hoursSource | 50,000 hoursSource | Up to 50,000 hoursSource |
| Cut, splice and extend | Runs are cut and connected by the installer to fit the roofline | Can be cut, extended and reconnectedSource | Cuttable and extendable, up to 200 ft totalSource | Cuttable and extendable, up to 200 ft totalSource |
| Weather rating | Not stated in current published materials | IP68 lights and Y connector; IP67 control box and power adapterSource | IP68 lights; IP67 control boxSource | IP67 lights; IP65 control box; indoor-only adapterSource |
| Smart home | Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, SiriSource | Matter, Alexa, Google Assistant, Apple WatchSource | Matter, Alexa, Google AssistantSource | Matter, Alexa, Google AssistantSource |
| Warranty and support | Limited lifetime warranty: lighting modules and control box, fixed 11.4 years, prorated, product only, dealer-installed systemsSource | 3-year warranty; Govee also lists lifetime customer support and a 30-day money-back guaranteeSource | 3-year warrantySource | 3-year warrantySource |
Installation model
Mounting
- TruLight roofline system
- Low-profile aluminum track under eaves or behind trimSource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro
- Not stated in current published materials
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Prism
- Included adhesive and pre-drilled screwsSource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro
- VHB adhesive and clipsSource
Power
Color system
White range
Published brightness
Rated LED life
Cut, splice and extend
- TruLight roofline system
- Runs are cut and connected by the installer to fit the roofline
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro
- Can be cut, extended and reconnectedSource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Prism
- Cuttable and extendable, up to 200 ft totalSource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro
- Cuttable and extendable, up to 200 ft totalSource
Weather rating
- TruLight roofline system
- Not stated in current published materials
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro
- IP68 lights and Y connector; IP67 control box and power adapterSource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Prism
- IP68 lights; IP67 control boxSource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro
- IP67 lights; IP65 control box; indoor-only adapterSource
Smart home
Warranty and support
- TruLight roofline system
- Limited lifetime warranty: lighting modules and control box, fixed 11.4 years, prorated, product only, dealer-installed systemsSource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro
- 3-year warranty; Govee also lists lifetime customer support and a 30-day money-back guaranteeSource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Prism
- 3-year warrantySource
- Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro
- 3-year warrantySource
The major differences
Who installs it, and how it is mounted
Govee models are designed for DIY installation. Govee lists adhesive and clips for the Pro and adhesive with pre-drilled screws for the Prism. TruLight is installed by a dealer in a low-profile aluminum track under the eaves or behind trim. The track changes how the lights look in daylight and how they are attached for the long term.
White light
Govee lists its Pro, Prism and 2 Pro as RGBWWIC with a tunable white range. TruLight uses three RGB LEDs plus three dedicated warm-white LEDs in each light. Both approaches include white emitters, but they are built differently, so compare them in person if white is your main use. Naming conventions are explained in our RGB vs RGBW guide.
Flexibility to cut, extend and rearrange
This is a real Govee strength. Govee says its Pro and Prism can be cut and extended up to 200 feet total, and the 2 Pro can be cut, extended and reconnected. With TruLight, runs are cut and connected by the installer to fit the roofline. Changes later are a service call rather than a weekend project.
Support and responsibility
Govee lists a 3-year warranty on its current Permanent Outdoor Lights models, plus lifetime customer support and a 30-day money-back guarantee. With a DIY product, you diagnose problems and handle replacement yourself. With a professionally installed system, the dealer handles installation, adjustments and warranty claims. The homeowner does less of the work, but the upfront cost is higher.
Who Govee fits
- You are comfortable on a ladder and your roofline is simple and easy to reach.
- You enjoy DIY projects and want to cut, extend and rearrange runs yourself.
- You already use Matter, Alexa or Google Assistant and want the lights in that ecosystem.
- Lower upfront product cost is your top priority.
Our recommendation
Why we recommend TruLight
- Professionally installed in a low-profile aluminum track under the eaves or behind trim, instead of adhesive and clips.
- Higher published output: 90–120 lumens per light vs 40–50 for the Govee models above.
- Double the published LED rating: 100,000 hours vs 50,000.
- Three dedicated warm-white LEDs per light for everyday architectural lighting.
- Longer published manufacturer coverage: TruLight’s qualifying dealer-installed roofline system has an 11.4-year limited warranty on the lighting modules and control box, compared with Govee’s current 3-year warranty for Permanent Outdoor Lights.
- A local installer responsible for layout, wiring, warranty registration, service and landscape lighting.
For a two-story or complex roofline, or for anyone who wants lighting that looks built-in and is backed by a local installer, we recommend professional TruLight over a DIY kit. We keep a sample of an older Govee model you can compare in person. See our professional vs DIY guide.
This is our view as an authorized TruLight dealer, based on the published specifications compared above.
Thinking about total cost
A Govee kit is priced as a consumer product, and you supply the labor, ladders and time. A professional system is priced as an installed project. Pure Light Systems typically prices permanent roofline lighting around $27–$30 per linear foot, depending on the home, roofline complexity, access, layout, and project scope. That covers design, equipment, installation and app setup.
To compare fairly, count what you would do yourself with a DIY kit: planning, mounting, wiring, later adjustments and replacing failed sections. See how professional pricing works.
What to compare before deciding
- Exact model. Govee specs differ by model and generation. Make sure you are comparing the model you would actually buy.
- Daytime appearance. Picture the mounting method on your own fascia and trim.
- White light at night. Look at warm white on your home's materials.
- Hands-on. We keep a sample of an older Govee model, not one of the current models above, that you can hold next to TruLight during an on-site consultation.
- Who fixes it. Decide whether you want to handle repairs yourself or have an installer do it.
TruLight vs Govee FAQ
Which Govee model does this comparison use?
The headline comparison is Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 Pro, which Govee launched on September 7, 2026. The table also includes Govee’s Prism and Pro models because their published specifications differ, and each spec is listed only for the model Govee publishes it for.
Can Govee permanent lights be cut and extended?
It depends on the model. Govee says the Pro and Prism can be cut and extended up to 200 feet total and describes the 2 Pro as able to be cut, extended and reconnected. Govee’s guide says Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 and the earlier RGBIC model cannot be cut.
Do Govee permanent lights have white LEDs?
Govee lists its Pro, Prism and 2 Pro models as RGBWWIC, with published white ranges of 2700K–6500K for the Pro and Prism and 1000K–10000K for the 2 Pro. TruLight uses three dedicated warm-white LEDs in each light.
Is Govee a good choice for permanent lighting?
It can be. For homeowners who want to install the lights themselves, like working in a consumer smart-home ecosystem such as Matter, and want a lower upfront product cost, Govee is a reasonable option. A professionally installed system makes more sense for complex or two-story rooflines, a track-mounted finish, or when you want an installer responsible for the system.
How does the cost compare?
A Govee kit is a consumer product you buy and install yourself, so its upfront cost is usually lower. Pure Light Systems typically prices permanent roofline lighting around $27–$30 per linear foot, depending on the home, roofline complexity, access, layout, and project scope. That price includes design, equipment, professional installation and app setup, so you are comparing a product price with an installed system.
Can I compare Govee and TruLight in person?
We keep a sample of an older Govee permanent light model, so during an on-site consultation you can hold it next to TruLight. It is not one of the current models in the comparison table.
Keep comparing
- Professional vs DIYWhich approach fits your home.
- TruLight technologySpecifications, controls and warranty.
- PricingRoofline lighting typically $27–$30 per linear foot.
- RGB vs RGBWWhat the white channels in each system do.
- 12V vs 24V vs 48VHow system voltage affects long runs.
- Request a quoteFree on-site consultation.
See a Professional System Up Close
Request a free on-site consultation to see TruLight in person and get a quote for your roofline.